SeaCat has been designed to follow only proven cryptographic standards. It meets the requirements of the following cryptographic standards:

  • FIPS 140-2, Security Requirements for Cryptographic Modules;
  • FIPS 180-4, Secure Hash Standard (SHS);
  • FIPS 186-3, Digital Signature Standard (DSS) and Elliptic cryptography;
  • IEEE 1363-2000, IEEE Standard Specifications for Public-Key Cryptography;
  • RFC 5246, The Transport Layer Security (TLS) Protocol;
  • PKCS #3, Diffie–Hellman Key Agreement Standard;
  • PKCS #7, RFC 2315, Cryptographic Message Syntax;
  • PKCS #10, RFC 2986, Certification Request Standard;
  • PKCS #13, Elliptic Curve Cryptography Standard (not standardized yet);
  • RFC 5280, X.509 ITU-T standard for a public key infrastructure (PKI) and Privilege Management Infrastructure (PMI).